Cirrus is a Norwegian chamber jazz quartet consisting of vocalist Eva Bjerga Haugen, saxophonist Inge W. Breistein, bassist Theodore B. Onarheim and drummer Stein Inge Brækhus.

Photo: Karina Gytre

Musically the quartet combines grooves and shifting textures in a way that sounds both new and recognizable. The music can best be described as European chamber jazz with elements and inspiration from North Indian classical music, French chansons and experimental pop.

The music is performed on acoustic instruments in the unusual combination of vocals, bass, saxophone and drums. The quartet plays original material that explores the contrasts and boundaries between complete arrangements and improvisation. The original and sparse lineup offers new interactional challenges that give both space and motivation to stretch the instruments’ traditional roles.

Photo: Karina Gytre

Listen to Cirrus’ Méli Mélo here:

iTunes / Wimp / Spotify


Follow Cirrus on Facebook: